Om Shanti Om (vs) Saawariya

So what will you be watching this Diwali? OSO or Saawariya?

I, for one, will definately first watch OSO (and then top it up with Saawariya). I don’t expect any sense out of OSO (I’ve learnt my lessons after Main Hoon Na) but I have cancelled my Diwali plans with friends just to catch a glimpse of SRK’s bare & toned body 😀 (and also because I am a crazy fan of SRK…not the nerve slitting one though).

Although, I must confess that I am bored of watching Ankhon mein teri..ajab si ajab si on tele…and Deepika Padukone waving in the trailer…SRK’s open mouth and Shreyas Talpade looking as if he’s had a bad hair day (I wonder what shampoo he uses). As if that wasnt enough, I just came to know that an Om Shanti Om Designer Clothes Line and Jewellery Line have been launched. I am fine with the jewellery line…but 70’s inspired clothes? Do they really expect us to go around in flashy clothes and sidelocks that extend till a man’s jawline?

I am trying not to be too critical of OSO…but really guys…I think SRK has marketed his movie enough. Everybody knows the movie is releasing on the 9th of Nov and I am sure many of us will watch the movie even if he didn’t put up this full-fledged promotion package. I mean…first it was Deepika and Farah on Voice of India trying to pretend as if they were really enjoying the proceedings and the contestants dragging Deepika onto the stage even though she was least interested…and later it was SRK who did the same and the whole brigade then movied onto Nach Baliye…WOW! I’d definately be embarassed putting on such a ‘pretentious’ show…but then…if I’d spent crores of rupees making a film…I might aswell show a few jhatak-mataks on stage…;) but just one show plzzz!

Now coming to Saawariya….I like Bhansali’s movies…the extravagant sets, beautiful songs, the picturisation, use of light and colour etc etc (though I wasn’t much impressed with his Devdas. I thought it was a drag) but my all time favourite will be Khamoshi. I watched the music lauch of Saawariya and wondered why it turned out to be a ‘sob’ story. First it was Sonam who started crying….and then it was her parents…Mr & Mrs Anil Kapoor…and as if that wasn’t even…even the lead actor…Ranbir Kapoor started to cry….and this followed by his parents…Rishi and Neetu…and then it was the turn of Sanjay Leela Bhansali himself and the finishing touches were given by Rani Mukherji :(( I mean…was it really necessary? They are kids of star parents…and everybody knows that it is easier for star kids to make it in bollywood….atleast Sonam did not have to go through the process of ‘casting-couch’ unlike many other young women.

I also don’t understand the clothes Sonam is wearing in the movie….She’s got a chunari covering her head…and then she’s got one more wrapped around her shoulders and elbows and her lehenga looks like it’s a kilometer long…ahhh…how can I forget Ranbir dancing in his towel… 😀 Apparently…there was (I say was ‘cuz it has now been chopped by the sensor board) a sequence in one of the song’s where Ranbir’s towel is supposed to fall off….hhhhaaha…Does Sanjay Bhansali expect us to watch the movie to witness Ranbir’s bare bottom 😀

Nevertheless, it is a ‘Bhansali Film’ and I shall definately go and watch it…but only after Om Shanti Om 🙂

One thought on “Om Shanti Om (vs) Saawariya

  1. Pingback: Movie Review: Om Shanti Om « Idlidosa’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

