When Earth Shook!

I woke up with a start! My eyes were heavy..I looked out…there was no light. It was pitch dark. I checked S…bless him…he was fast asleep 😀 I wondered if I was dreaming. I could see the roof shaking…there were sounds too…like a tube was travelling underneath our place…I looked at S again…he was still not awake. This happened for atleast 8 seconds. My eyes were still heavy, full of sleep. It calmed down and I later went back to bed thinking I just had a bad dream.

Woke up the next morning and asked S if he felt any tremors. He was not sure what I was mumbling. Switched on BBC news and realised we experienced an Earthquake measuring 5.2 on the richter scale. It’s origin was about 120 miles from where we live.

It was an amazing experience. I experienced an earthquake once before…whn I was in India but not as severe. It lasted only a coupla seconds.

Hopefully, there won’t be a next time…but if there is…I just want S to wake up from him deep slumber 😀

Leave a Reply

