Movie Review: Sex and the City

Like I mentioned in my previous post, I wasn’t sure if I’d like the movie. I am not a huge of the show but I am relieved to say I enjoyed it. I was in a pretty bad mood before I walked into the screen…and when I am in a bad mood…trust me…it’s BAD!!! Infact, I was even contemplating on leaving the cinema even before the movie begined but forced myself to sit after some cajoling from S.

Coming to the movie…it starts off with the introduction of the four women, Carrie Bradshaw (Sarah Jessica Parker), Samantha Jones (Kim Cattrall), Charlotte York (Kirstin Davis) and Miranda Hobbes (Cynthia Nixon). Like the show, the film deals with two of the most complex issues…love and relationships 😛

In brief, Mr. Big (Chris North), Carrie’s 45+ ‘man’friend proposes to Carrie in a very unconventional manner and they are ready to be married but is devestated when Mr. Big does not turn up on the big day.

Samantha moves to LA to support and work for Jerry ‘Smith’ Jerrod (Jason Lewis) and misses NY. Jerry is busy with work and Samantha craves to be with her friends. There’s also a sexy hunk who moves next door and she is finding it difficult to control her urges 😉

Miranda is the usual…a workaholic. Her husband (Steve Brady aka David Eigenberg craves for attention but Miranda is engrossed with other things. Unable to cope with his wife’s rejection….he ends up sleeping with another woman. Their life is shattered when Miranda comes to know the truth.

Charlotte, the most positive of them all is pleasantly surprised when is told that she is pregnant. Her’s is the most un-complicated story of all.

The rest of the movie is about how these four women with the help of each other try and cope with the circumstances they are in and try to move forward.

I like it when women help each other. After a couple of Ekta Kapoor’s Saah Bahu soaps…I was ready to ‘demolish’ our television set with a cricket bat. It is so annoying when you watch a woman hell bent on creating havoc in other woman’s life..either by ‘bedding’ her husband or by pitting the saas against her 😀 It is so pathetic! I hope such ‘bull shit’ will stop very soon.

I did not have great expectations from the movie since I was not a big fan of the show…probably that is what clinched it for me. We sometimes do not realise how difficult it is to be love. We take it for granted. it’s rosy when everything is going for you…but how you stick together when things are not going for you is what you learn over the years. I won’t say the movie is GREAT watch but it is a BEARABLE watch.

My rating: 2.5/5

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Sex and the City

  1. Thank God, i didnt take my friend’s bait and watch the movie. I dunno why, but i was never a fan of anything that ran on TV. I know of people who discuss so fanatically about Star Trek, Heroes, Battleship Gallactica, Survivor, Big Brother etc. I could never convince myself to sit 30 mins on the couch and watch a full TV serial.

  2. Good. You mean it can be downloaded and seen but can’t be watched in a theater!!! Thats what I thought when I saw the promo. 😀

  3. @ Liju: Did you try House? The show is pretty good.

    @ Amit: I think you should get hold of the dvd once it’s out 😀 Don’t bother going to the theatre.

Leave a Reply

