What I didn’t like about Sarkar Raj

I went to the movies yesterday to watch Mongol but my plan backfired. After some emotional blackmail’ing’ by S, I sat through Sarkar Raj. I was not mad about watching this movie after reading Raja Sen’s rediff review…and I also had an inkling that it would not live up to the prequel Sarkar.

I cannot get myself to write reviews about movies that I don’t like so please read Raja Sen’s review here. Instead, I will let my dear readers know what I didn’t like about the movie.

Here goes…

  • Welcome to the world of Sarkar Raj where people never smile…No..Never. It is depressing.
  • Meet Anita Rajan (aka Ash Rai Bach) who is supposed to be the CEO of a multi billion dollar Energy Company but is not half as dynamic as she is supposed to be. Instead, she takes people management, leadership and communication skills tuitions from Shankar Nagre (Abhishek Bachchan).
  • One wonders why this ‘CEO’, who is supposed to be sitting in her air-coditioned office signing off deals and contracts lingers around Shankar Nagre. Doesn’t she have better things to do?
  • Why Shankar Nagre confides in the CEO about his dark secrets and fears is above my understanding 😛 I mean…the man just lost his wife (Avantika aka tanisha) and it’s not even been a week and is already smitten by the London returned chick who walks like a model and talks like a plastic doll 😈
  • There are too many twists and turns that by the end…you loose the plot and find it difficult to piece things together…who is who…who did what…what’s he doing here…isn’t he supposed to be dead etc etc are some of the common questions that pop up in your head…
  • Amitabh is definately toast of the movie. Rest do an OK job. Ash’s job is to cry and talk about the power plant…that’s it.
  • Overall, the movie is dark and depressing. Don’t waste your money….rent the dvd once its out or even better…watch it online 😀

My Rating: 2/5

PS: New Photographs in my Photoblog. Do take a look 🙂
 

6 thoughts on “What I didn’t like about Sarkar Raj

  1. Aiyoo.. you didn’t like ah? This movie has got the most polarized reviews. People either liked it or hated it. I liked it! I liked the way it was handled.. well of course I completely zoned out Ash Trash.

  2. @mythili: the first part was definately better. I forced my dad to watch it (Sarkar) and what did he have to say…? this..IT’S CRAP! THIS AINT NO GODFATHER! ‘ hehe

Leave a Reply

